2019 Belz-Lipman Winners Announced

The Tennessee Holocaust Commission (THC) announced the winners of the 2019 Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award. The winners are:

  • Megan Krupa, Dobyns-Bennett High School, Kingsport, TN
  • Rachel Mattson, Hutchinson School, Memphis, TN
  • Mary McIntosh, Central Middle School, Memphis, TN
  • Johnna Paraiso, Stewarts Creek High School and Holloway High School, Rutherford County, TN

These educators will receive a $1500 scholarship which can be used to develop new curriculum, purchase resources and attend trainings that will help further engage their students in the study of the Holocaust. The award ceremony took place on Tuesday, April 9, 2019 in the House Chambers of the State Capitol, as part of The Tennessee Holocaust Commission’s Annual Day of Remembrance Holocaust Commemoration. The commemoration is free and open to the public.

Since 1995 the Tennesee Holocaust Commission (THC) has sponsored the Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award. Established by Memphis entrepreneurs and philanthropists Jack A. Belz and Ira Lipman, the award recognizes outstanding educators who excel in the teaching of the Holocaust. Each year educators from East, West, and Middle Tennessee are honored. Past recipients of the award have gone on to attend international conferences, been appointed as teacher fellows to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and served as educational liaisons for the THC.