Belz-Lipman Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education

Established by Memphis community leaders, entrepreneurs, and philanthropists Jack A. Belz and Ira Lipman, the Belz-Lipman Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education Award recognizes outstanding talent and commitment in the field of Holocaust education. The Tennessee Holocaust Commission has presented the award since 1993, recognizing the most skilled, dedicated, and enduring Holocaust educators across the state of Tennessee for nearly thirty years.

Each year three educators are chosen for the award and accompanying $1500 grant, which can be used for professional development and support. Examples include the development of new curriculum, to purchase resources or attend trainings in Holocaust history or education. Of the three recipients, one each will be chosen from East, West and Middle Tennessee, respectively.

Recipients receive:

- A $1500 grant for their classroom.
- State-wide recognition.
- Exclusive access to Tennessee Holocaust Commission events and workshops.

The award is open to currently employed teachrs in the state of Tennessee with at least two years of experience teaching the Holocaust in the classroom. The winners of the Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award are announced in the House Chambers of the State Capitol, as part of The Tennessee Holocaust Commission’s Annual Day of Remembrance Holocaust Commemoration. The commemoration is free and open to the public.

Applications are being accepted until April 1, 2024. 

2023 Winner Bios

You can help us tell their stories