Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator of the Year Award

Since 1995 the Tennessee Holocaust Commission (THC) has sponsored the Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award. Established by Memphis community leaders, entrepreneurs, and philanthropists Jack A. Belz and Ira Lipman the award recognizes outstanding educators in the field of Holocaust education.

Each year, three educators are chosen, one each from East, West and Middle Tennessee, to receive a financial award to develop new curriculum, purchase resources or attend trainings to help engage their students in the study of the Holocaust.

Distinguished recipients of the award have attended international conferences on Holocaust education, served as teacher-fellows to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and served as educational liaisons for the THC.

The award is open to teachers in the state of Tennessee with at least two years of experience teaching the Holocaust in the classroom.

The winners of the Belz-Lipman Holocaust Educator Award are announced each year at the annual Day of Remembrance Ceremony.

Nominate a teacher for the Belz-Lipman Holocaust educator of the Year Award by downloading and completing the form below.

Download Now

You can help us tell their stories