The Tennessee Holocaust Commission announced the recipients of the 2021 Belz-Lipman Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education. The winners are:

• Kim Kenneson, St. Mary’s School, Johnson City, TN
• Vincent (Vic) Oakes, The Baylor School, Chattanooga, TN
• Gary Taft, Lenoir City High School, Lenoir City, TN

These educators will receive a $1500 scholarship. These funds can be used to develop new curriculum, attend trainings and purchase resources to help further engage their students in the study of the Holocaust. The virtual award ceremony will take place on April 25, 2021 at 1pm, during the Holocaust Commission’s Annual Day of Remembrance Holocaust Commemoration. The commemoration is free and open to the public. Registration required to attend.

The Tennessee Holocaust Commission has sponsored the 2021 Belz-Lipman Award for Excellence in Holocaust Education since 1995. Established by Memphis entrepreneurs and philanthropists Jack A. Belz and Ira Lipman, the award recognizes outstanding educators who excel in the teaching of the Holocaust. Each year educators from East, West and Middle Tennessee are honored. Past recipients of the award have gone on to attend international conferences, been appointed as Teacher Fellows to the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum and served as educational
liaisons for the Commission.

Leave a Comment